Does this website look broken? I’m redesigning in the open!

Hello, I’m Martin Wright, a friendly designer based in Shrewsbury in the UK.

I’m a web designer with over fifteen years’ experience experience designing websites and services for varied clients including central and local government, healthcare, and the charity sector.

I’m a dedicated and experienced team lead, people manager, design practitioner, and lifelong learner. I’m passionate about working with people to deliver the very best user-centred design work.

I’ve had various roles in the web industry, and have had the pleasure of working with some diverse clients like the University of Oxford, the WWF and the RNIB. I believe the web should be used for social good and that’s the kind of work I like to do.

I was born in Reading but spent my teenage years in Perth, Western Australia before moving back to the UK and settling in Shrewsbury. I dabbled in web design during college, throwing together websites for bands which gave me a taste for the immediacy of making things on the internet.

I took Computer Science at University, where I became interested in human-computer interaction and user interface design. My web skills helped me develop this interest, and I wrote my dissertation on computer aided learning and reward systems.

After university I was Web Team Leader for my local council, where I learnt the benefit of rapid prototyping in a ‘demo or die’ culture. During my time there I pushed the council to work in the open, starting a web development blog and a launching a public beta of a new

The work my team and I did at Shropshire was well received in the industry and on the back of this I landed a job at Torchbox, where I worked for a wide range of clients in the charity and education sectors.

In 2013 I joined the team at mySociety, where I designed web products and projects for citizens, governments, and similar groups around the world. Work I found immensely satisfying.

Building on this, since 2021 I’ve worked for TPXimpact (formerly Futuregov) as a design lead, working on Central Government user-centred design projects

I live in Shrewsbury with my wife and two daughters. I like punk-rock, video games and the films of Wes Anderson. In my free time you can find me running, up a mountain on my bike, or watching Star Wars with the kids. Again.

twitter dribbble instagram